The First Week Back: It Doesn’t Have to Begin Like This

Standard

IMG_3242

With all of the hustle and bustle going on around campus, it is hard to stay upbeat and focused during the beginning of the semester. Everyone is running around like chickens with their heads cut off, trying to buy books, find parking, find their classes, or a mixture of all the above. (For myself, it is more like a chaotic, blended disaster.) Anywho, back to reality, back to the grind, it is time to get back into the swing of things. For some of you, it may be your second semester of college, for others, myself included, I feel as though I have been in college forever and that it will never end. For those who are fighting back the “back-to-school blues”, I have three simple tips to keep you smiling through the stress, while you may be crying inside.

1. Get and Stay ORGANIZED- I know you have heard this a BILLION times before, but seriously, if you don’t own a planner, invest in one. Or use the one on your cell phone. (I know you have a cell phone) It sounds so cliche, but there is a reason we were taught so hard in middle school to organize. I honestly would forget to put my brain in my head if it wasn’t already there. Write down all of the big assignments you have and when they are due. Try to schedule some time to study every week. You work nights? Weekends? No time? Well you know what honey, you are in college, make time. It really isn’t that difficult to stay on top of things, once you prioritize your time. Below I have a link to one of my favorite blogs, that will help you stay organized.

Staying Organized in College

2.Make Time For YOU- Another cheesy statement, that most people do not understand. As a junior in college, pregnant, working an internship, and raising a six-month-old puppy, I know life gets busy. I know times get hard. I know the stresses that life in general can cause a person. This is why taking time out of your day is truly beneficial for your well being. There are lots of things to do to help you center yourself and calm those tense nerves. Go outside. Smell the flowers, or more realistically for Tampa Bay, go the water and smell the salt. Count the birds in the sky. Relax under a palm tree and enjoy the “cold” weather we will have for MAYBE another week. Go get your nails or toes done. Get some FroYo. Do whatever it takes to take some time out of your day, it can even be just 5 measly minutes, and center your being. Below I have included a link that will give you a few ideas on how to enjoy your “me” time.

Me Time Ideas

3. Do NOT Forget To Eat- Seriously. Don’t do it. You won’t be able to focus, learn, or interact with the people around you. I cannot stress this enough. I have forgotten to eat before class before, and not only was I hungry, but I had a wicked headache, and could not tell you a single thing that happened in class. If you’re broke, I get it. Financial aid and student loans have yet to disperse. Lucky for us college students, food is free during the first week. All you have to do is find it. Many organizations, companies, and frats/ sororities give away free food, in turn for talking to them and acting interested in what they have to offer. I know from experience, you can literally, almost LIVE off of free food they give out during the first week back. So wander around, make some friends, eat free food, but remember to eat. On a side note, breakfast is the most important meal of the day, so make sure to get something healthy in, before that 8:00 AM class. (I know that sounds impossible to do, but just do it, and thank me later.)

Thanks for reading and if you liked this post, feel free to follow me on Twitter or Instagram! I promise I follow back. 😉

2 thoughts on “The First Week Back: It Doesn’t Have to Begin Like This

Leave a Reply

