A Little About Visualization Theory and Creativity

Standard

According to Wikipedia, “Data visualization is viewed by many disciplines as a modern equivalent of visual communication. It involves the creation and study of the visual representation of data.”I find data visualization to be a major part of modern society. I personally have enjoyed taking a look at the following three websites and comparing each one’s view on data visualization.

According to Ross Crooks in 16 Captivating Data Visualization Examples, “interactive data is newer and allows people to drill down into the dirty details of these charts and graphs using their computers and mobile devices, and then interactively change which data they see and how it’s processed.” On this website was many very good examples of visualization. My favorite was the example done by Slate on who was fighting who in Syria.   I really enjoyed how they used emoticons in this. (below)

syrian-war-relationships

The next post I would like to discuss is the post titled Visual Information Theory found on cola’s blog. In one of their examples of how visual information is “visualized”, they are showing how two different examples could be put together in an example, as long as they are independent/ do not interact. I did not realize that you could use multiple types of data in a visualization, but the example used (below) really helped me understand it.

prob-2d-independent-rain

Lastly, I would like to talk about what I learned from Inspiration: Analysis To Insights To Action, Faster!. After reviewing what this site provided on data visualization, I found this site to be most interesting. On the site, they talk about how numbers on paper showing how much oil a country uses, is scary, but using visual data to depict the data truly shows what is going on. A list is a list, but using larger texts, boxes, along with the statistical information, allows us to visualize information. In this scenario, you really see in comparison how much oil we use. This is a very good example and I can see myself using something like this in my career.

List:

oil_consumption_table.png

Visual Example:

oil_consumption_treemap.png

I look forward to this class and working with data. Creating informative content for a business or company is almost required in certain jobs. I currently work as a Social Media Coordinator and share content like this on the company’s page.

Leave a Reply

