Module #7- Plot.ly

This week our assignment was to explore using the Plot.ly software. Overall, I thought this was very similar to messing with the Google Fusion Assignment, but I found Plot.ly to be much smoother and easier to operate around on.

I was surprised how easily finding the Mean, Median, and Standard Deviation was.

Mean: FB- 55303632.375 Twitter-36042208.5

Median: FB- 57963191 Twitter- 37133201

Standard Deviation: FB- 15979901.476981508 Twitter- 7783594.278588524

Screen Shot 2016-10-18 at 2.53.43 PM.png

Here is the link to the graph above I made of the Facebook Followers. I made a pie graph that shows the comparative percentages of Facebook followers. It appears that Rihanna has the most Facebook followers. This came as a surprise to me. I would have thought Taylor Swift or Obama would have beaten Rihanna, although Rihanna is internationally popular.

Screen Shot 2016-10-18 at 3.02.28 PM.png

After analyzing this graph (here is the link), it is clear to see that Justin Bieber has the most Twitter followers, followed closely by Katy Perry. This chart (bar graph) was much easier to make. I even figured out how to mess around with the colors and fonts! I was SHOCKED to see Rihanna down so far in Twitter followers, when she had the MOST Facebook followers. It just goes to show that each social media platform can attract a different crowd of a celeb’s followers. Some may be only on one platform, either Twitter or Facebook. I personally rarely use my Twitter other than for my job. Facebook is my “go-to” social media platform.

I really enjoyed this project and see myself using Plot.ly for visual explanation of online research I do at my job, in the near future!

Leave a Reply

