Module # 13 Visualization Design Schema

This week for our assignment, I chose to edit this pie chart I had previously made, “Facebook Followers of Celebs- 2016.”

screen-shot-2016-10-18-at-2-53-43-pm

I decided to pick this one to revise, because it was simple, and had some of the key components talked about in the Evergreen and Emery (2014) PDF. After reading through some of the things that make for a good visualization, I have since made some corrections to my graph. The first major correct, was fixing the color scheme. Someone who may be looking at a graph of this sort, especially one about celebrities and Facebook, would be a high schooler, more than likely, a girl. So the first thing I did was make my graph look better to a younger female. I also changed my title from “Facebook Followers of Celebs- 2016” to “Visualization of Popular Celeb’s Facebook Followers in 2016”. I felt that by changing the title, it would allow me to save myself from using a subtitle. I also thought it would look better if instead of keeping the pie graph whole, just break up the “slices” by giving them a little white space, to signify that each slice is a different celebrity, and show that not everything in the pie graph is related. This is not a full representation of every celebrity on Facebook, just a select few. Also, by leaving space between the slices, it allowed the graph to flow better with the background, something mentioned in our reading. Below is my corrected graph, “Visualization of Popular Celeb’s Facebook Followers in 2016”.

screen-shot-2016-11-13-at-12-06-24-pm

I also felt it was appropriate, for this graph, to include the name, the number of followers, and the percent in comparison to everyone else included in the graph. I think that the Evergreen and Emery strategy for data visualization is brilliant. I like that they use numbers to calculate if you have a good chart or not. I think that this would be very helpful to many people, myself included, when making a data visualization. I do not agree with all of the statements, such as avoiding colors for colorblindness (I find red and green to be very strong colors) and I don’t agree with not having a 3D data visualization. Every visualization is different, but overall, I liked their checklist!

 

Leave a Reply

